Literature Notebooks Online

The Literature Notebooks online format has been updated. The universe of included sources has been greatly expanded. In addition to the reference sources of the previous versions, we now have links to hundreds of full-length (non-reference) books (many with multiple links to indiviidual sections & chapters). For example, almost all of our various Harold Bloom series are now included in the database. Plus lots of other regular books as well. There are now almost 7000 separate links.

Alexander Street Press adds content to Music Online!

Highlights of new content include:

-Miles to Go, The Lost Years: An Intimate Memoir of Life on the Road with Miles Davis 1973-1983 -That's Got 'em: The Life and Music of Wilbur C. Sweatman -The Supremes: A Saga of Motown Dreams, Success and Betrayal -There's A God On the Mic: The True 50 Greatest MCs -Let the World Listen Right: The Mississippi Delta Hip-Hop Story -Barrelhouse Blues: Location Recording and Early Traditions of the Blues -Becoming Jimi Hendrix: From Southern Crossroads to Psychedelic London, The Untold Story of a Musical Genius -The Singing Campaign for Ten Thousand Pounds: Or, the Jubilee Singers in Great Britain

Music Online now equals:
692,652 tracks
99,495 pages text reference
24,368 scores (400,000 pages)
488 videos


http://liboc.tctc.edu:2048/login?url=http://music.alexanderstreet.com

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

New Feature: Comprehensive School Search
Now more than ever, obtaining the right education is an essential part of career development, and choosing the best school is the first step in that process. With this latest update, Ferguson's Career Guidance Center now offers a comprehensive, current database of more than 4,000 undergraduate institutions in the United States and Canada. Users may search schools based on a number of factors--such as admissions difficulty, curriculum offerings, housing options, location and setting, student body, and tuition--to identify ones that best match their career aspirations, educational needs, and personal preferences. All schools included have full accreditation or are pre-accredited and grant degrees at the associate's and/or bachelor's level.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center has been enhanced with an exciting new feature: a career interest assessment tool that helps users explore occupations and industries that best match their personal interests. With this essential career discovery feature, users can identify and understand what interests them and then apply that knowledge toward choosing an occupation. The Career Interest Assessment tool is perfect for students exploring possible future occupations and for professionals seeking a new career path. The Career Interest Assessment tool is based on the O*Net® Interest Profiler™. By asking users to respond to a series of statements, it ranks the importance of six key interest categories: Artistic, Conventional, Enterprising, Investigative, Realistic, and Social. For each interest area, lists of related industries and occupations are provided, with links to information about each one from Ferguson's Career Guidance Center's database of more than 3,400 jobs and 94 industry articles.

Key features include:
Detailed 180-item questionnaire ranks each user's personal interest areas
Users may adjust their answers or retake the assessment at any time
Users may save their assessment results
Lists of related industries and occupations provide a springboard for career exploration.

Additions to Credo's General Reference Collection

Credo's General Reference collection continues to grow each month and now has nearly 500 titles. The following well-regarded titles were added in May:

The 9/11 Encyclopedia, ABC-CLIO in History
Dictionary of Microbiology & Molecular Biology, Wiley in Science
A Dictionary of Travel and Tourism Terminology, CABI in Social Sciences
Encyclopedia of Energy, Elsevier Science & Technology in Science
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications, Elsevier Science & Technology in Social Sciences
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: A Political, Social, and Military History, ABC-CLIO in History
Key Concepts in Critical Social Theory, Sage UK in Social Sciences

The library's link to Credo is http://www.xreferplus.com/home.do

Historic Newsreels

This month, Films Media Group has added over 250 historic newsreels from United News to the FMG Digital Library. Focusing on World War II, these films offer an intriguing glimpse into American life during turbulent times. Useful as a primary source for historical and cultural research, each newsreel is segmented by subject for convenient searching and viewing, and can be integrated into custom playlists just like video content currently in your collection.

Titles are available immediately: in the "View By Subject" bar, click on the link "Archival Films & Newsreels" to browse over 1,200 newsreel segments, or use Advanced Search for keyword searches by selecting "Archival Films & Newsreels" in the "Subject" drop-down menu.

More archival film footage and newsreels will be available to subscribers soon.

FMG is available linked from the Library homepage at http://academics.tctc.edu/lynx

Films on Demand

Needing to understand a subject and want something other than a book? Then look at our new database, Films on Demand. Instantly watch thousands of videos--and tens of thousands of video segments--across all subject fields. See our home page for direct links to specific collections. Or go to Films on Demand website. As a reminder, if you are off-campus, you will need to enter your T number.

Writer's Reference Center

The Facts On File database server and streaming video platform will be down for approximately seven hours on Saturday, January 30th from 12:00 AM to 7:00 AM (EST). This continued maintenance is necessary to perform hardware updates to meet the traffic demands of our Facts On File users.

This will impact the Writer's Reference Center

Classical Music download

Alexander Street Press's featured download from Classical Music Library is Richard Strauss' Ein Heldenleben, Op. 40, performed by the Orchestra della Svizzera Italiana, Serge Baudo, conductor. More information about this piece is available on the Alexander Street Music blog. TCTC Library subscribes to Music Online which means you can see a wealth of content on Strauss here. If you are off campus, you will be asked to supply your "T" number.

Ebsco Host Databases are now mobile

You can now search Ebsco Databases on your smart phone (iPhone/Blackberry). Website from your phone intenet app is http://search.ebscohost.mobi/ You will need a User ID and Password. Contact the Circulation Desk at 646-1750 for that information. Let us know if you have any problems using this new application.

Two New Databases

See the link at http://find.galegroup.com/menu/commonmenu.do?userGroupName=tricotec_main
for two new databases:

ChiltonLibrary.com
ChiltonLibrary.com represents the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. There are thousands of year, make and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models. ChiltonLibrary.com gives you the confidence to service or repair virtually any system on your vehicle.

Grzimek's Animal Life
In 1968 Bernhard Grzimek, the famous zoologist and Director of the Frankfort Zoo, published the Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia. Gale updated the print set in 2004, including new articles and commissioning additional images. Grzimek's Animal Life on the web provides students and researchers with a dynamic, interactive resource that fosters more discussion and critical thinking skills. This product uses the content from the encyclopedia to provide unequaled coverage on more than 4,000 species, and includes more than 11,000 images, videos, illustrations, and maps.

New Databases

The library has new databases available:

American History in Video – over 2000 hours of history. Create a customized playlist. http://ahiv.alexanderstreet.com/

Music – See the Music subject page at http://academics.tctc.edu/lynx/Database/Music.htm. We have added several listening databases to the Music arena which include Jazz, Contemporary World Music, Classical, and American Song. Create your own playlist.

JSTOR – http://www.jstor.org

New databases to start in December: Chilton’s, Grzimeks Animals Online and Writer’s Reference Center.

If you have any trouble accessing the databases, please let us know at 646-1750.

Databases?

Need some help understanding how databases work? See Norman, Sue, or Marla. We are happy to give you insights into the world of databases.